Raves & Reviews

Philip Gabriel Photography is proud to share feedback from our clients – in their own words:

“Beyond our wildest expectations!

2020 has been a really tough year. Easily the biggest highlight for us was our wedding which just preceded the onset of the COVID pandemic. And we will be eternally thankful to Gabe “G2” Cariola and the entire Philip Gabriel Photography team for the huge role they played in making our day so special. Choosing a photographer for a wedding is obviously a big deal and we met with quite a few. It can be a little bit overwhelming, but when we looked at everyone’s work, it became clear to us that Philip Gabriel was in its own class. We were lucky enough to work with Gabe Cariola aka G2. Gabe immediately put us at ease. We did an engagement shoot with him 9! Months before the wedding and it was a great warm up for the main event. For those of you who are a bit shy in front of the camera, Gabe is so easy to work with and goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable. Our wedding was in January, and Gabe had the not so easy task of whisking us around Old City Philadelphia, trying to keep us warm and getting great shots—to say he and his second shooter succeeded is an understatement. You really feel special as multiple photographers, lighting specialists and others make sure your day goes perfectly. We’re not even sure how Gabe got some of the shots during the ceremony—he must have been hanging off the ceiling like Spiderman! He’s also got a great sense of humor and is a good sport, which is very important when you’ll be spending all day together and he has to put up with family members not always sticking to the meticulously planned out photo order! We were so happy with how the shots came out. We’re working with Nicole now on our album and can’t wait to see it. I know we’ll be coming back the next time we need lifetime memories. Thanks so much, Gabe! We will always be grateful.”

– Raina & Ben –

Reading Terminal Market – January 2020

“Gabe is the best!”

“Gabe and his team are truly the best and we cannot recommend them enough if you want the most beautiful, flawless photographs of your wedding day! We discovered Gabe through one of my closest friends and since the moment we met him, his passion for the art of photography was evident. We scheduled our engagement photos with him and not only did we get gorgeous shots, we had the best time taking them! Even my husband enjoyed being photographed for an hour and we couldn’t stop laughing the whole time! On the day of the wedding, he made our bridal party feel so comfortable and confident and had us all laughing the entire time. We recently just received our preview from our wedding day and were truly blown away by Gabe’s artistic talent and the moments he captured. We have gotten the most compliments on these photographs and have had so many family and friends ask for his contact information! We know we will be using Philip Gabriel from now on for all of our future photography needs!”

– Victoria & Scott –

Ballroom at Ellis Preserve – September 2020

“Best of the Best”

“We chose Philip Gabriel Photography for our wedding on July 6, 2019. We didn’t even bother looking at anyone else, honestly. Gabe and his team shot my sister’s wedding 2 years prior and their talent, professionalism, and product all blew us away! The whole team is very helpful and responsive. The planning process was easy with them, and then of course the day of the wedding – the best! They know all the best spots in the city and despite fighting off some downpours, thunder & lightning, and even a tornado warning (!), everything turned out AMAZING! Gabe even stopped traffic on Broad Street to capture some awesome shots! We could not be happier with our pictures, and it was so hard to narrow it down to the ones we picked for our album. We HIGHLY recommend Philip Gabriel Photography – they are simply the best!”

– Laura & Evan –

Vie – July 2019

“Best choice I made!”

“I could write a whole novel about how happy I am to have worked with the Philip Gabriel team for my wedding photos. Philip Gabriel is really the best in Philly. On my wedding day I had the pleasure of working with Gabe (G2), Lauren, and Heather. They were fantastic and I can’t thank them enough. When I felt nauseous they gave me their water and food. They were always thinking of us and made us all feel so comfortable. They are all so talented, thoughtful, and warm. They also made the day of photos so much fun! I couldn’t have made a better choice!! They truly went above and beyond. We received preview images and they are OUTSTANDING. I can’t stop gushing over them. Can’t wait to see the rest!!!”

– Dayna & Matt –

Philadelphia Marriott Old City – June 2019

“Amazing and unforgettable experience”

“Do yourself a favor and HIRE PHILIP GABRIEL PHOTOGRAPHY!! The PGP team completely exceeded all of our expectations. During the planning process, we worked with Anya who was extremely knowledgeable and helped guide us on locations for photos, timeline, how to deal with unique family situations and more. The day of the wedding the team was amazing. We had Gabe, Phil and Anya on our photography team and they made the entire day fun for us – it’s not always the most fun posing for pictures but the team was able to make it fun! It was so cool to see the PGP team look around and spot good areas for photos, and these impromptu locations ended up being the most amazing photos. This team is truly incredibly talented, I am beyond impressed. All of our guests commented on how fun and nice the photographers were – how often does that happen?! They never felt in the way or in your face, but continued to make the party fun as the did their job. I just received the preview photos and am blown away. They are the most incredible photos and left me speechless. These photos will last a lifetime and are worth every penny we paid! Thank you to the PGP team for the most amazing experience before, during and after!!”

– Leah & Matt –

Cira Center – December 2019

“I used Philip Gabriel Photography for my wedding June 9th, 2018 at the Bellevue in Philadelphia. The specific photographer at my wedding was Gabe Cariola of the two Gabe’s. I cannot say enough positive things about my experience from start to finish with the company, especially Anya, who was so incredibly helpful every step along the way. I would use them again 100x over, and will likely use them again in the future! They are honest, respond quickly, and were a pleasure to work with. I have not seen the images yet, but have no doubt that they will be incredible. They were great about making the timeline and giving guidance on where to take pictures with adjustments that day. Gabe was so professional and had the best sense of humor, making everyone (especially my mom who hates taking pictures) at ease, laughing throughout the day. I never thought one of the most fun parts of the day would be hanging out with them! He was quick and efficient. I had not met him before that day and he was quick on his toes about making good decisions about our timeline according to that day. If you want to have fun with professionals on your big day and be able to relax as well has have a company that communicates very well with you, don’t hesitate to book them! You will not be disappointed!”

– Michelle & Evan –

The Bellevue Hotel – June 2018

“Book Gabe NOW!”

 

BEST photographers ever!!! Philip Gabriel Photography was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding day. We live in NYC and got married in Philly. We didn’t get a chance to meet Gabe prior to our wedding day and we still immediately felt so comfortable and at ease working with Gabe and the rest of the team on our wedding day. They made everything flow so seamlessly. I trusted all of their photo suggestions and they truly took such great care of us. We just received our photo previews and they are beyond amazing. They captured all of the love that we felt on our wedding day. I can’t recommend them enough. Worth every penny!!!!!”

 

– Bridget & Vince –

Union Trust – October 2019

“Philip Gabriel is the most perfect wedding photographer!”

 

“Gabe & Phil photographed our wedding on October 12th – our photos speak for themselves. Philip Gabriel does absolutely beautiful work – they are wonderful to work with, super accommodating and professional. Gabe’s energy and fun-loving personality was exactly what we needed on our wedding day – he kept the bridal party engaged throughout the day, he felt our excitement and shared those feelings with us! He was such an incremental part of our day, and I am SO happy that we chose them as our photographers.”

 

– Giovanna & Chris –

Ballroom at the Ben – October 2019

“A Dedicated Photographer who made the day fun and easy”

We worked with Philip Gabriel for our Philadelphia wedding on October 13th, 2018. The process for working with PG was very easy, from our initial meeting with Gabe Cariola (G2) through the contracting and package selection process, through to the big day. About four weeks out from the big day, we had a call with Gabe to discuss our timeline, beginning at the Logan Hotel, with first look at Logan Circle, a trolley pickup, more pics at the Barnes Museum and Rodin Museum, then transportation to Tendenza for the main event. Gabe, the secondary shooter Jeff, and their assistant did an awesome job directing us enough to get the shots that would looks great without making the process seem overly stage-managed. We were able to talk and have fun with our bridal party and parents while we were shooting. Once we got to Tendenza for some family pictures before the rehearsal, we made very efficient use of about 25 minutes of time to get both family pictures and some portrait and individual shots in the Piazza at Schmidt’s. From that point onward, the posed pictures ended until cake cutting, and Gabe and Jeff blended seamlessly into the background of our ceremony and reception and allowed us to not give another thought to the picture-taking process. We were thrilled with choosing Philip Gabriel and would recommend them to anyone. We can’t wait to see the final product!”

– Stephanie & Mike –

Tendenza – October 2018

“Every Picture is Perfect”

We are so, so happy we picked Philip Gabriel as our wedding photographer! The whole team is fabulous and Gabe makes every photo opportunity comfortable, beautiful, and easy. My husband was uncomfortable during our Engagement shoot and then a little more reserved during our Wedding Day and Gabe helped to make him feel so comfortable that he embraced the experience and now we have gorgeous engagement and wedding photos.
For the actual Wedding Day, I was a little ambitious with all the family and friend photos I wanted to have. But instead of Gabe and his team negotiating and telling me it would be impossible, they came up with a strategy of how we could make it all happen and IT DID! And the best part? They managed to get all of those special photos without disrupting important moments and conversations or by taking us away from our guests. Every photo occurred seamlessly throughout the day and night. It was perfect.
I should also mention that every photo is beautiful and makes me feel like model. Philip Gabriel knows how to make you feel and look stunning.
Thank you, Gabe and team for the perfect day.

– Kristine & John –

The Rittenhouse – April 2019

“When I was planning my October 2016 wedding, I went in with absolutely no clue what I was doing. I knew nothing about cake, florists, what kind of dress I wanted. I had no secret Pinterest board. I knew exactly ONE thing. Phillip Gabriel had to do the photography. I’ve been in love with their beautiful style since I first saw a photo of my friend, captured perfectly mid-champagne toast, with glowing lights and happy faces all around. Now I have my own amazing photos back and I’ve gotten so many compliments about how amazing they are from countless family members and friends. Looking at them I can actually remember the way I felt during all the moments that got so blurred together in the rush of the day. Real moments and emotions were captured. In my opinion, there is no equal. That may sound dramatic, but it’s true.
Now – that’s just the photos. Let’s talk about the experience. Gabe Cariola “G2” is amazing to work with. He made all of us feel so comfortable and relaxed. He was funny, fun to spend the day with (this is important! you’ll be together all day!), and not afraid to get into the action to make sure nothing was missed. He’s extremely professional, good under pressure (we got stuck in traffic on the way back from a location), excellent at improvising and great at capturing the little details that happen when no one else is paying attention. Anya Antonyuk is amazing to work with as well. She’s responsive, friendly, professional, and also makes you feel at home. She was the wedding day MVP. We realized that my veil was sewn upside down so it wouldn’t work with my hairstyle. Anya whipped out a sewing kit, carefully pulled the stitches out, and sewed it back together – way above and beyond the call of duty. She was also invaluable to the groomsmen, helping to fix bow ties and boutonnieres so everyone looked perfect. She held my purse, my dress, my shoes, my flowers… I would have been a complete mess without her. They are amazing!!”

– Jennifer & Dylan –

Hotel Monaco – October 2016

“Perfect, couldn’t have been better!!”

 

 

“I could not have asked for a better photography team. Everything-from the beginning planning stages to the end of the wedding evening-was perfect and ran smoothly. Gabe listened to everything I wanted and gave suggestions when needed. Everyone was so great dealing with all of the different personalities in the family and they were all so fun to work with! Gabe and team definitely helped make our day extra special and perfect. Could not rant enough!!”

 

– Alison & Ben –

Drexelbrook – August 2019

“The Best in the Business”

“Philip Gabriel photography’s quality is unmatched. Before we even chose to go with Philip Gabriel (PG), we knew they were the best because all the photos we saw of our venue (Ballroom at the Ben) that we adored were PG photos. Meeting the team and speaking to Gabe confirmed we would be in the hands of someone who was equally as passionate about capturing our memories as we were.

From the beginning, Anya at PG made us feel comfortable and answered all of our questions to make sure we had everything we needed throughout the whole process. It was great to have someone guiding us through our wedding planning that made us feel like VIP clients.

Everyone in the PG staff, and especially the two Gabes, have wonderfully ebullient personalities. They made us feel at ease during our wedding day; hours of photos flew by and we can now look back at all our photos with amazement on how beautifully they were captured. Not a moment during our wedding was missed as the PG crew seamlessly blended into the background. We don’t know how they did it but it was exactly what we were looking for!

We’re so glad to have put our trust in Gabe and Philip Gabriel. Their work is exquisite and we’re so excited to have these gorgeous memories to last us a lifetime!”

– Stephanie & Mauricio –

Ballroom at the Ben – February 2019

“WOW! Working with Gabe and his team was a dream come true. I’ve worked with Gabe numerous times as someone I recommend to my own clients and was fortunate enough to have him as my photographer for my very own wedding. Gabe was just as full of positive energy from the time he arrived until the end of the evening when he departed. He achieves the perfect balance of being lighthearted and funny (which you need in those stressful moments) as well as being serious to capture the raw emotion of the day.
He and his team were extremely organized and detail oriented through the planning process and on the big day. As a bride, I did not have to worry about anything. That is the most amazing feeling when you can just be the wedding couple and let the professionals do their thing! They were on top of every detail and every photo opportunity. My guests are still talking about how the photographers were everywhere all night long yet not intrusive of our celebration. I think our guests are equally excited as we are to see our photos!
We are SO happy that we had the chance to work with Gabe and his fabulous team. Thank you also to Anya (so patient and easy to work with), G2, Phil and Nicole. You are the best team out there and we hope to have a chance to be your clients again!”

– Emily & John –

Chesapeake Bay Beach Club – April 2018

“We cannot say enough amazing things about Philip Gabriel Photography. We used them at our wedding on June 9, 2018 at the Crystal Tea Room we could not have asked for a better photography team! Gabe Fredericks and his entire team were absolutely AMAZING! They were all so much fun to be around and helped make the entire day go perfect. Anya was awesome and extremely responsive through the entire planning process and was so helpful throughout the entire wedding day as well! Gabe made sure to capture every moment of the day. He was lying down in the middle of the street getting the most incredible photos and we can’t thank them enough for capturing our special day. If they are available for your date, book them immediately! You will not regret it! I will definitely be using them in the future!”

– Karen & Matt –

Crystal Tea Room – June 2018

“Absolutely the BEST!”

“Our wedding was 10/13/18, and wedding planning sure was stressful! The crew at Philip Gabriel made this whole process so much easier on me. The months leading up to the wedding I had been communicating with Anya a whole lot. She answered emails efficiently and called me to answer my questions. She put me at ease when I was feeling concerned about how the day would flow and assured me there was nothing to worry about.
Well, she was right! These guys made my wedding day perfect! Gabe Fredericks guided us through Old City, Philadelphia, snapping photos of us in the most beautiful locations. The afternoon was seamless, and FUN! His sense of humor had us laughing the entire day. The crew made me and my husband, our bridal party and families feel comfortable throughout the day, as smiling for photos for hours can be strenuous, but the time passed by effortlessly.
I just received all of my photos about a week ago. As if the day feeling perfect wasn’t enough, these photos are absolutely magnificent. True pieces of art. I couldn’t be happier with the outcome.
Thank you guys for not just being wonderful photographers but also wedding planners, tour guides, and comedians to boot! We love Philip Gabriel!”

– Gabrielle & Sean –

Downtown Club – October 2018

Looking for more information on our wedding photography services? Contact Philip Gabriel today!